Winter Break Parking Information

General Parking Information

Blue Zone Access for Undergraduate Residential Students

Residential undergraduate students may park their cars in the Blue Zone from Tuesday, Dec. 13 until Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2012.

Gated Lot Access

Duke permit holders have access to most gated lots from Friday, Dec. 23 through Monday, Jan. 2, 2012. 

Observe special events signs at lot entrances. Towing enforced.

Duke University Road Lots

The Duke University Road lots will close at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 16 and will re-open on Monday, Jan. 9, 2012.

Enforcement

Vehicles must be parked in legally marked, unreserved spaces during the holiday period. Refer to the garage schedules for patient and visitor parking information.

Enforcement of handicapped spaces, fire lanes and reserved spaces will be in effect throughout the winter break. 

Observe special events signs at lot entrances. Towing enforced.

Main Quadrangle

During this period the Chapel Quadrangle will be staffed only during events, for Christmas Eve and Sunday Worship Services.

Patient and Visitor Parking - Garages

Patient and visitor parking will be free at all facilities from Saturday, Dec. 24 through Monday, Dec. 26 and Saturday, Dec. 31 through Monday, Jan. 2, 2012.

Parking Garage I

Friday, Dec. 23, patient and visitor parking will operate on an abbreviated schedule between 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 27 through Friday, Dec. 30, 2011 patient and visitor parking will operate on an abbreviated schedule between 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 3, normal operations resume.

Parking Garage II

Friday, Dec. 23, patient and visitor parking will be free.

Tuesday, Dec. 27 through Thursday, Dec. 29, 2011 patient and visitor parking will operate on an abbreviated schedule between 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 30, patient and visitor parking will be free.

Tuesday, Jan. 3, normal operations resume.

Parking Garage III

Friday, Dec. 23, patient and visitor parking will be free.

Tuesday, Dec. 27 through Friday, Dec. 30, 2011 patient and visitor parking will be free.

Tuesday, Jan. 3, normal operations resume.

Eye Center Parking at Research Drive Garage

Friday, Dec. 23, patient and visitor parking will be free.

Tuesday, Dec. 27 through Thursday, Dec. 29, 2011 normal operations resume.

Friday, Dec. 30, patient and visitor parking will be free.

Tuesday, Jan. 3, normal operations resume.

This lot is reserved for patients only at all times.  Ticket and towing will be enforced over the holidays.

Parking Garage IV



Employee holiday gate access operates between Dec. 23, 2011 through Jan, 2, 2012


Fees will be charged during special events
Monday, Dec. 19 through Thursday, Dec. 22, 2011 visitor parking will operate between 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 23 through Monday, Jan. 2 parking will be free except for special events.
Tuesday, Jan. 3 through Saturday, Jan. 7, 2012, visitor parking will operate between 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 8, 2012, visitor parking will operate between 1 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Normal operations resume on Monday, Jan. 9